EXTRAORDINARY

GOVERNMENT OF FIJI GAZETTE SUPPLEMENT

No. 42 MONDAY, 23rd AUGUST 2021

[LEGAL NOTICE No. 87]

CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI (Section 92(3))

Ministerial Assignment

To: Rear Admiral (Retired) Josaia Voreqe Bainimarama Prime Minister and Minister for iTaukei Affairs, Sugar Industry, Foreign Affairs and Forestry

WHEREAS, in exercise of the powers vested in me as the Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji under section 92(3) of the Constitution of the Republic of Fiji, I assigned to myself in my capacity as the Prime Minister and Minister for iTaukei Affairs, Sugar Industry and Foreign Affairs with effect from 22 November 2018, the responsibility for the conduct of Government businesses, divisions and written laws specified in Legal Notice No. 87 of 2018;

WHEREAS, in exercise of the powers vested in me as the Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji under section 92(3) of the Constitution of the Republic of Fiji, I assigned to myself in my capacity as the Prime Minister and Minister for iTaukei Affairs and Sugar Industry with effect from 23 January 2019, the responsibility for the conduct of Government businesses, divisions and written laws specified in Legal Notice No. 4 of 2019;

WHEREAS, in exercise of the powers vested in me as the Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji under section 92(3) of the Constitution of the Republic of Fiji, I assigned to myself in my capacity as the Prime Minister and Minister for iTaukei Affairs, Sugar Industry and Foreign Affairs with effect from 17 April 2020, the responsibility for the conduct of Government businesses, divisions and written laws specified in Legal Notice No. 36 of 2020;

NOW THEREFORE, in exercise of the powers vested in me as the Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji under section 92(3) of the Constitution of the Republic of Fiji, I hereby revoke with effect from 24 August 2021, all assignments and responsibilities under Legal Notice No. 36 of 2020, and with effect from the same day assign to myself in my capacity as the Prime Minister and Minister for iTaukei Affairs, Sugar Industry, Foreign Affairs and Forestry the responsibility for the conduct of the following Government businesses, divisions and written laws (subject to the provisions of any other written law)—

	Business	Division
(a)	Office of the President Commissions of Inquiry Honours and Awards	Office of the President
(b)	Office of the Prime Minister	Office of the Prime Minister
	Constitution of the Republic of Fiji Other minority groups (e.g. Kioa Island,	Mahogany Industry Council
	Melanesian Community)	Constitutional Offices Commission*
	Peoples Charter	
	Rabi Island Affairs	
	Rotuma and Rotuman Lands	

(c)	Cabinet Office Coat of Arms of Fiji Promissory Oaths	Cabinet Office
(d)	iTaukei Affairs Dispute Resolution Education and Training iTaukei Affairs iTaukei Fishing Rights iTaukei Lands	Ministry of iTaukei Affairs iTaukei Affairs Board iTaukei Development Fund Board iTaukei Fisheries Commission iTaukei Lands Appeals Tribunal iTaukei Lands Commission iTaukei Land Trust Board
(e)	Sugar Industry Sugar Reform	Ministry of Sugar Industry Sugar Unit
<i>(f)</i>	Immigration Deportation Immigration Passports	Department of Immigration
(g)	Foreign Affairs Aid and Training Development Assistance Diplomatic Relations Foreign Affairs Marine Spaces (Exclusive Economic Zone) Treaties and Conventions	Ministry of Foreign Affairs
(h)	Forests (including Pine forests)	Ministry of Forestry
		[Note: * indicates the responsibilities and is subject to any provision as to independence of office]
(i)	Responsibility for all written laws regulating the businesses of (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f), (g) and (h) above including in particular, the following Acts and the subsidiary legislation made thereunder— Office of the President Commissions of Inquiry Act 1946 Honours and Awards Act 1995 Office of the Prime Minister Banaban Lands Act 1965 Banaban Settlement Act 1970 Constitution of the Republic of Fiji Diplomatic Missions and International Organisations Act 2016 Limitation of Liability for Prescribed Political Events Act 2010 National Flag Protection Act 2015 Public Order Act 1969 Public Safety Act 1920 Registration of Skilled Professionals Act 2016 Regulation of Pensions and Retirement Allowances Act 2010 Rotuma Act 1927 Rotuma Lands Act 1959 Cabinet Office Coat of Arms of Fiji (Restriction of Use) Act 1972 Parliamentary Remunerations Act 2014 Parliamentary Retirement Allowances Act 1989 Personal Accident Compensation for Members of Parliament Act 1997 Presidential Pensions Act 1994 Primis Minister's Pensions Act 1994 Promissory Oaths Act 1956 Titles of Office Act 1966	

iTaukei Affairs

iTaukei Affairs Act 1944

iTaukei Development Fund Act 1965

iTaukei Lands Act 1905

iTaukei Land Trust Act 1940

iTaukei Trust Fund Act 2004

Sugar Industry

Attachment of Sugar Cane Debts Act 1940

Sugar Cane Growers Fund Act 1984

Sugar Industry Act 1984

Sugar Research Institute of Fiji Act 2005

Immigration

Citizenship of Fiji Act 2009

Immigration Act 2003

Passports Act 2002

Foreign Affairs

Consular Conventions (Administration of Estates) Act 1972

Consular Privileges and Immunities Act 1972 Diplomatic Privileges and Immunities Act 1971

Marine Spaces Act 1977

Special Missions Privileges and Immunities Act 1972

Forestry

Fiji Pine Act 1990

Forest Act 1992

Dated this 23rd day of August 2021.

J. V. BAINIMARAMA Prime Minister