

REPUBLIC OF VANUATU

CHAPTER 146

REPRESENTATION OF THE PEOPLE PARLIAMENTARY CONSTITUENCIES AND SEATS) ORDER NO. 7 OF 1998

To provide for Parliamentary Seats and Constituencies.

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred upon me by subsection (1) of section 70 of the Representation of the People Act [CAP. 146] and acting in accordance with the advice of the Electoral Commission, I, JEAN-MARIE LEYE LENELCAU MANATAWAI, President of the Republic, hereby make the following Order: -

NUMBER OF CONSTITUENCIES

)

1. For the purpose of the election of members to Parliament, the Republic of Vanuatu shall be divided into 17 constituencies, the names and boundaries of which are set out in the Schedule hereto.

NUMBER OF PARLIAMENTARY SEATS

2. Parliament shall consist of 52 members, the seats of whom shall be distributed among the constituencies in accordance with and in the manner as set out in the Schedule hereto.

REPEAL OF ORDER NO. 29 OF 1995

3. The Representation of the People (Parliamentary Electoral Constituencies and Seats) Order No. 29 of 1995 is repealed.

COMMENCEMENT

4. This Order shall come into force on the day of its publication in the Gazette.

Aneitymen ... day of ... Tanuery, 1998. DATED at Port-Vika, this / President of the Republic of

SCHEDULE

<u>Constituencies</u>		<u>Number</u> Parliame
AOBA (AMBAE)	AOBA (AMBAE) ISLAND	3
AMBRYM	AMBRYM ISLAND	2
BANKS/TORRES	TORBA LOCAL GOVERNMENT REIO	N 2
EFATE	EFATE, EMAU, PELE, NGUNA, MOSO AND LELEPA ISLANDS	4
EPI	EPI ISLAND	2
LUGANVILLE	LUGANVILLE MUNICIPALITY	2
MAEWO	MAEWO ISLAND	1
MALEKULA	MALEKULA INCLUDING ALL OFFSHORE ISLANDS	7
MALO/AORE	MALO/AORE ISLAND	1
PAAMA	PAAMA AND LOPEVI ISLANDS	1
PENTECOST	PENTECOST ISLAND	4
PORT VILA	PORT VILA MUNICIPALITY	б
SANTO	SANTO ISLAND	7
SHEPHERDS	EWOSE, TONGARIKI, BUNINGA, EMAH MAKURA, AND MATASO ISLANDS	E, 1
TONGOA	TONGOA	L
	ERROMANGO, ANIWA, FUTUNA AND ANEITYM ISLANDS	1
TANNA	TANNA ISLAND	7
TOTAL NUM	BER OF PARLIAMENTARY SEATS:	52

er and Allocation of mentary Seats

÷

.