REPUBLIC OF VANUATU

DECENTRALIZATION AND LOCAL GOVERNMENT REGIONS ACT NO. 1 OF 1994

ORDER NO. 1 OF 1996

To Consolidate Orders No. 22, 26 and 30 of 1994.

WHEREAS :

- A. Pursuant to section 3 of the Decentralization and Local Government Regions Act No. 1 of 1994 ("the Act"), the Prime Minister on the 8th day of August 1994 issued Order No. 22 of 1994 naming and defining the boundaries of the local government regions;
- B. Pursuant to section 4 of the Act, the Prime Minister on the 14th day of September 1995, issued the Local Government Councils (Establishment) Order No. 26 of 1994 (which order provided for the establishment of new local government councils) under the Act; and
- C. Pursuant to section 35 of the Act, the Minister on the 20th day of October 1994 issued the Local Government Councils (Seats) Regulation No. 30 of 1994 (which specified the composition of each local government council); and

AND THEREFORE, pursuant to sections 3 and 4 of the Decentralization and Local Government Regions Act No. 1 of 1994, I, SERGE VOHOR, Prime Minister of Vanuatu, make the following Order:-

"DEFINITIONS

1. In this Order -

"Act" means the Decentralization and Local Government Regions Act No. 1 of 1994;

"MALAMPA region" means the MALAMPA local government region established under section 2;

"PENAMA region" means the PENAMA local government region established under section 2;

"SANMA region" means the SANMA local government region established under section 2;

"SHEFA region" means the SHEFA local government region established under section 2;

"TAFEA region" means the TAFEA local government region established under section 2;

"TORBA region" means the TORBA local government region established under section 2"

ESTABLISHMENT OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT REGIONS

- The Republic of Vanuatu shall be divided into 6 (six) Local Government Regions which shall be called:
 - (a) TAFEA;
 - (b) SHEFA;
 - (c) MALAMPA;
 - (d) PENAMA;
 - (e) SANMA;
 - (f) TORBA.

BOUNDARIES OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT REGIONS

- 3. (1) The TAFEA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the South of a straight line bearing 096 from point S18 16.3' E168 31.7' and a straight line bearing 246.5 from the said point, namely the islands of TANNA, ANATOM, FUTUNA, ERROMANGO and ANIWA.
 - (2) The SHEFA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line bearing 096° from point S18°16.3' E168°31.7' and a straight line bearing 246.5° from the said point, and to the South of a straight line bearing 225° from point S16°30.0' E167°57.7', a straight line from the said point to points S16°37.6' E168°33.7' and a straight line bearing 084° from the said points, namely the islands of EFATE, the SHEPHERDS ISLANDS and EPI.
 - (3) The MALAMPA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line bearing 225° from point \$16°30.0' E167°57.7', a straight line from the said point to point \$16°37.6' E168°33.7' and a straight line bearing 084° from the aforesaid point, and to the South of a straight line bearing 225° from point \$15°45.8' E167°25.8' a straight line from the said point to point \$16°05.7' E168°18.9' and a straight line bearing 084° from point \$16°05.7' E168.18.9' namely the islands of MALAKULA, AMBRYM and PAAMA.
 - (4) The PENAMA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line from point S15*45.8' E167*25.8' to point S16*05.7' E168*18.9' and a straight line bearing O84* from the said points and East of a straight line from point S15*45.8' E167*25.8 to point S14*28.5' E167*33.2', and to the South of a straight line from point S15*45.8' E167*25.8' to point S14*39.6' E168*10.6' and a straight line bearing 59* from the said point, namely the islands of PENTECOST, AMBAE and MAEWO.

Land the maining has been a promise but and

- (5) The SANMA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line bearing 255 from point S15 45.8' E167 25.8', to the West of a straight line from the said point to point S14 28.5' E167 33.2', and to the South of a straight line bearing 286 from point S14 28.5' E167 33.2', namely the islands of SANTO and MALO.
- (6) The TORBA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line bearing 059 from point S14*39.6' E168*10.6' and a straight line bearing 286* from the said point, namely the TORRES and BANKS islands.

ESTABLISHMENT OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCILS

- 4. The following Local Government Councils shall be established :-
 - (1) A local government council to be known as the TAFEA Local Government Council is hereby established for the TAFEA region.
 - (2) A local government council to be known as the SHEFA Local Government Council is hereby established for the SHEFA region.
 - (3) A local government council to be known as the MALAMPA Local Government Council is hereby established for the MALAMPA region.
 - (4) A local government council to be known as the PENAMA Local Government Council is hereby established for the PENAMA region.
 - (5) A local government council to be known as the SANMA Local Government Council is hereby established for the SANMA region.
 - (6) A local government council to be known as the TORBA Local Government Council is hereby established for the TORBA region.

COMPOSITION OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCILS

- The composition of Local Government Council Region shall be as follows -
 - (a) TAFEA region 15 elected members;
 - (b) SHEFA region 25 elected members;
 - (c) MALAMPA region 19 elected members;
 - (d) PENAMA region 15 elected members;
 - (e) SANMA region 17 elected members;
 - (f) TORBA region 4 elected members.

COMMENCMENT

4. This Order shall be deemed to have come into force on the 15th day of November 1994.

MADE at Port Vila this '19 day of January 1996

SERGE VOHOR

Prime Minister and Minister of Public Service, Planning & Statistics; Media Services and Language Services (D)