REPUBLIC, OF VANUATU

ORDER NO. 22 OF 1994

To make provision for the establishment and naming of Local Government Regions.

In Exercise of the powers contained in section 3 of the Decentralisation and Local Government Regions Act No. 1 of 1994, I hereby make the following order:-

ESTABLISHMENT OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT REGIONS

- 1. The Republic of Vanuatu shall be divided into 6 (six) Local Government Regions which shall be called:
 - TAFEA
 - SHEFA
 - MALAMPA
 - PENAMA
 - SANMA
 - TORBA

BOUNDARIES OF LOCAL GOVERNMENT REGIONS

- 2. (1) The TAFEA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the South of a straight line bearing 096° from point S18°16.3' E168°31.7', and a straight line bearing 246.5° from the said point, namely the islands of TANNA, ANATOM, FUTUNA, ERROMANGO and ANIWA.
 - (2) The SHEFA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line bearing 096° from point \$18°16.3' E168°31.7' and a straight line bearing 246.5° from the said point, and to the South of a straight line bearing 225° from point \$16°30.0' E167°57.7', a straight line from the said point to points \$16°37.6' E168°33.7' and a straight line bearing 084° from the said points, namely the islands of EFATE, the SHEPHERDS ISLANDS and EPI.
 - (3) The MALAMPA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line bearing 225° from point \$16°30.0' E167°57.7', a straight line from the said point to point \$16°37.6' E168°33.7' and a straight line bearing 084° from the aforesaid point, and to the South of a straight line bearing 225° from point \$15°45.8' E167°25.8' a straight line from the said point to point \$16°05.7' E168°18.9' and a straight line bearing 084° from point \$16°05.7' E168°18.9', namely the islands of MALAKULA, AMBRYM and PAAMA.

- (4) The PENAMA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line from point S15°45.8' E167°25.8' to point S16°05.7' E168°18.9' and a straight line bearing O84° from the said points and East of a straight line from point S15°45.8' E167°25.8' to point S14°28.5' E167°33.2', and to the South of a straight line from point S15°45.8' E167°25.8' to point S14°39.6' E168°10.6' and a straight line bearing 59° from the said point, namely the islands of PENTECOST, AMBAE and MAEWO.
- (5) The SANMA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line bearing 255° from point S15°45.8' E167°25.8', to the West of a straight line from the said point to point S14°28.5' E167°33.2', and to the South of a straight line bearing 286° from point S14°28.5' E167°33.2', namely the islands of SANTO and MALO.
- (6) The TORBA Local Government Region shall consist of the islands of Vanuatu lying to the North of a straight line bearing 059° from point S14°39.6' E168°10.6' and a straight line bearing 286° from the said point, namely the TORRES and BANKS islands.

COMMENCEMENT

 This order shall come into force on a date set by a further order.

MADE at Port Vila this 8th day of August 1994.

M. CARLOT KORMAN PRIME MINISTER