Decentralisation (Composition of Shepherd Islands Local Government Council) Order No. 401 Of 1981

To provide for the composition of the Shepherds Local Government Council, for the number of councillors to be elected to that Council, for the number of appointed members to that Council, and for matters connected therewith.

IN EXECUTED of the power contained in section 5 (a), (b) and (c) of the Decentralisation Act No.11 of 1980, I hereby make the following Order:

Composition of Shepherds Local Government Council:

- The Shepherds Local Government Council shall be composed as follows:=
 - (a) 14 members elected by universal suffrage from the following wards:-

3 members North Tongos Ares Council, Central Tongos Area Council, 2 members 3 members South Tongoa Area Council, 2 members Emai Area Council, Makura Area Council, 1 member Tongariki Area Council, 1 member 1 member Bunings Area Council, Mataso Area Council. 1 member

- (b) 3 members selected by the Minister from among persons nominated by the Shepherds Council of Chiefs;
- (c) 1 member selected by the Minister from among persons nominated by the Shepherds Council of uomen;
- (d) 1 member selected by the Minister from among persons nominated by the Shepherds Youth Council.

Commencement. 2. This Order shall come into force on the 6th day of July 1981.

MADE at Port Vila this

6th day of July 1981.

