# No. 48 of 2020.

University of Papua New Guinea (Amendment) Act 2020.

Certified on : 14 JAN 2021

<u>(</u>



5

ŝ

#### No. 43 of 2020.

University of Papua New Guinea (Amendment) Act 2020.

#### **ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS.**

 Interpretation (Amendment of Section 2). "Department" "Minister".

4

G

- 2. The Council (Amendment of Section 9).
- 3. Basic Finance (Amendment of Section 35).



No. of 2020.

AN ACT

entitled

## University of Papua New Guinea (Amendment) Act 2020,

Being an Act to amend the University of Papua New Guinea Act 1983,

MADE by the National Parliament to come into operation in accordance with a notice in the National Gazette by the Head of State, acting with, and in accordance with the advice of the Minister.

## 1. INTERPRETATION (AMENDMENT OF SECTION 2).

Section 2 of the Principal Act is amended -

4

- (a) by repealing the definition of "Commission for Higher Education"; and
- (b) by inserting the following new definitions:
  - ""Department" means the Department of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology established by the *Higher Education (General Provisions) Act* 2014; and

"Minister" means the Minister responsible for the Department of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology;".

#### 2. THE COUNCIL (AMENDMENT OF SECTION 9).

Section 9 of the Principal Act is amended by repealing Paragraph (f) and replacing it with the following:

"(f) a person nominated by the Departmental Head of the Department of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology,".

#### 3. BASIC FINANCE (AMENDMENT OF SECTION 35).

Section 35 of the Principal Act is amended by repealing the words "Commission for Higher Education" and replacing them with the word "Minister".

I hereby certify that the above is a fair print of the *University of Papua New Guinea (Amendment) Act* 2020, which has been made by the National Parliament.

Clerk of the National Parliament. 14 JAN 2021

I hereby certify that the University of Papua New Guinea (Amendment) Act 2020, was made by the National Parliament on 27 August 2020.

(O) Wind

Acting Speaker of the National Parliament.