No. 42 of 1996.

Insurance (Amendment) Act 1996.

Certified on: 20.12.76

## INDEPENDENT STATE OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA.

No. of 1996.

Insurance (Amendment) Act 1996.

#### ARRANGEMENT OF SECTIONS.

- 1. Interpretation (Amendment of Section 2).
- 2. Commissioner may license insurers, brokers and loss adjusters (Amendment of Section 18).
- 3. Licensing of insurers and brokers and loss adjusters (Amendment of Section 19).

#### INDEPENDENT STATE OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA.

No. of 1996.

AN ACT

entitled

## Insurance (Amendment) Act 1996,

Being an Act to amend the Insurance Act 1995,

MADE by the National Parliament to be deemed to have come into operation on 3 October 1995.

### 1. INTERPRETATION (AMENDMENT OF SECTION 2).

Section 2 of the Principal Act is amended by inserting after the definition of "continuous disability insurance business" the following new definition:-

"existing insurer means -

- (a) Mitsui Marine and Fire Insurance Co., Ltd.,; and
- (b) American Home Assurance Company Inc.; and
- (c) The New Zealand Insurance Co., Ltd.,;".

# 2. COMMISSIONER MAY LICENSE INSURERS, BROKERS AND LOSS ADJUSTERS (AMENDMENT OF SECTION 18).

Section 18(1)(a) of the Principal Act is amended by repealing Paragraph (a) and replacing it with the following:-

"(a) to a corporation incorporated under the laws of Papua New Guinea or to an existing insurer - a licence to carry on general insurance business;".

#### Insurance (Amendment)

# 3. LICENSING OF INSURERS AND BROKERS AND LOSS ADJUSTERS (AMENDMENT OF SECTION 19).

Section 19 of the Principal Act is amended by repealing Subsection (1) and replacing it with the following:-

"(1) A corporation incorporated under the laws of Papua New Guinea or an existing insurer may apply to the Commissioner for a licence to carry on general insurance business."

I hereby certify that the above is a fair print of the *Insurance (Amendment) Act* 1996 which has been made by the National Parliament.

Clerk of the National Parliament.

I hereby certify that the *Insurance (Amendment) Act* 1996 was made by the National Parliament on 11 December 1996.

Speaker of the National Parliament.