

REPUBLIC OF NAURU

Government Gazette

Published by Authority

No. 2

7th January, 1980.

Nauru.

G.N. No. 4/1980

NAURU LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL ORDINANCE 1951-1967

DECLARATION OF POLL

ELECTIONS OF COUNCILLORS

PURSUANT to Section 33 of the Nauru Local Government Council Ordinance 1951-1967, I. JOKETANI COKANASIGA, Returning Officer for the 1979 Elections of Councillors to the Nauru Local Government Council, do hereby determine and declare the result of the Elections of Councillors conducted on 29th December, 1979.

ELECTORAL DISTRICT OF ANETAN

<u>Candidates</u>	Total	Formal	First	Preference	Votes
Ika Denuwa Bucky Appi Vollmer Degoregore Roy		58 22 77			
	Total	157		•	
	Invalid	3			
Total Vo	otes Cast	160			

No candidate received an absolute majority of 79 Votes.

On the second count the position was:-

Ika Denuwa Bucky 69 Degoregore Roy 88

ROY DEGOREGORE was therefore elected Councillor for the vacant seat in the ANETAN District.

No.	2	7th January,	1980	Nauru.

G.N. No. 4/1980 (Cont'd)

ELECTORAL DISTRICT OF ANABAR

Candidates	Total	Formal	First	Preference	Votes
Scotty Ludwig Menke Obeira Deireragea Maein Doguape James			28 58 35 18		
То	tal		133		
In	valid		_		
Total Votes	Cast	_	133	_	

No candidate received an absolute majority of 67 votes

On the second count the position was:-

Scotty Ludwig 28 Menke Obeira 66 Deireragea Maein 39

No candidate received an absolute majority.

On the third count the position was:-

Menke Obeira 88 Deireragea Maein 45

OBEIRA MENKE was therefore elected Councillor for the vacant seat in the ANABAR District.

ELECTORAL DISTRICT OF BUADA

<u>Candidates</u>	<u>Total</u>	Formal	First	Preference	Votes
Kun Rueben Detabene Deang			6 6 7 7		
	Tota	al	14.3		
	Inva	alid	2	<u> </u>	•
Total '	Votes (Cast	14	5	

DEANG DETABENE received an absolute majority of votes. He was therefore elected Councillor for the vacant seat in the BUADA District.

The absolute majority-vote is 72.

No.2 7th January, 1980 Naur	No	ο.	2								7th	l	Januar	y,	1980		,	-			Naur	cu	-
-----------------------------	----	----	---	--	--	--	--	--	--	--	-----	---	--------	----	------	--	---	---	--	--	------	----	---

G.N. No. 4/1980 (Cont'd)

ELECTORAL DISTRICT OF UBENIDE

Candidates	Total	Formal First Preference Votes
Adeang Kenan Ranibok Detudamo Robidok Buran Dowiyogo Bernard	ro	119 105 126
•	Total	350
	Invali	.d 2.
Total Vot	es Cas	352.

No candidate received an absolute majority of 176 votes.

On the second count the position was:-

Adeang Kennan Ranibok 196 Dowiyogo Bernard 154

KENNAN ADEANG and BERNARD DOWLYOGO were therefore elected Councillors for the District of UBENIDE.

There being only one candidate for the third count, to elect the second Councillor, all Kennan Adeang's votes were reallocated to Bernard Dowiyogo.

ELECTORAL DISTRICT OF MENEN

Candidates	Total Formal First Preference	Votes
Arubobwin James	12	
Bop James	81	
Brecktefeld John	17	
Bam Christmas	23	
Eoe Bobby	41	
Clodumar Vinci	13	
Jeremaiah Harold	19	
Tot	al 206 .	
Inv	alid 7	
Total Votes	Cast 213	

No candidate received an absolute majority of 104 votes.

On the second count the position was:-

Bop James	84
Brecktefeld John	17
Bam Christmas	26
Eoe Bobby	46
Clodumar Vinci	13
Jeremaiah Harold	20

No. 2

7th January, 1980.

Nauru.

G.N.No 4/1980 (Cont'd)

No candidate received an absolute majority.

On the third count the position was:-

Bop James 84
Brecktefeld John 19
Bam Christmas 27
Eoe Bobby 56
Jeremaiah Harold 20

No candidate received an absolute majority.

On the fourth count the position was:-

Bop James 86
Bam Christmas 28
Eoe Bobby 61
Jeremaiah Harold 31

No candidate received an absolute majority.

On the fifth count the position was:-

Bop James 93 Eoe Bobby 71 Jeremaiah Harold 42

No candidate received an absolute majority.

On the sixth count the position was:-

Bop James 106 Eoe Bobby 100

JAMES BOP was therefore elected Councillor for the vacant seat in the Menen District.

Dated this 30th day of December, 1979.

J. COKANASIGA, Senior Administrative Officer.

G.N. No 5/1980

NAURU LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCIL

PUBLIC NOTICE

It is hereby published for general information that at the first meeting of the Nauru Local Government Council held in pursuance to the provisions of Subsection 1 of Section 9 of the Nauru Local Government Council Ordinance 1951-1967, the NLGC by resolution, made the following appointments:-

No.2

7th January, 1980

G.N.No. 5/1980 (Cont'd)

Head Chief

Councillor the Honorable Hammer DeRoburt, O.B.E.,M.P.

Secretary to Council

Councillor Edwin Tsitsi

Treasurer to Council

Councillor the Honourable James Ategan Bop, M.P.

Dated this 31st day of December, 1979.

J. COKANASIGA, Senior Administative Officer.