

RÉPUBLIC OF NAURU

Government Gazette

Published by Authority

Extraordinary

No. 58 23 October 1978 Nauru

G.N. No. 304/1978

ELECTORAL ACT 1965~1973

DECLARATION OF THE BY-ELECTION IN THE CONSTITUENCY OF UBENIDE

I, LAURENCE STOTT, Returning Officer, HEREBY DECLARE, in terms of Section 28 of the Electoral Act 1965-1973, the result of the By-election held on 21st October 1978 in the Constituency of UBENIDE for a Member of Parliament for Nauru as follows:

CANDIDATE	PREFERENCES COUNT		
	<u>lst</u>	2nd	3rd
KENNAN RANIBOK ADEANG	160	166	175
LUI VICTOR EOAEO	14	_	-
VICTOR IDARABABWIN EOAEO	17	20	-
DEROG GIOURA	181	186	197

Number of FORMAL votes 372 Number of INFORMAL votes 3

Having obtained an absolute majority on the 3rd Preference Count DEROG GIOURA is thereby elected as Member of Parliament for the Constituency of Ubenide.

Given under my hand this 21st day of October 1978

Laurence Stott RETURNING OFFICER